East HS Students Attend DECA State Career Development Conference

East HS Students Attend DECA State Career Development Conference

Students from East High School made a big showing at the Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA) State Career Development Conference in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

151 DECA students took part in various competitions at the conference in late February, including role-playing, sales presentations, job interviews, and business and marketing plans. They also attended career and leadership workshops.

Fifty-two students from the East DECA chapter received recognition at the conference. Thirty-six students won medals for high test score or high role play, 28 students qualified to attend the international conference in Orlando, eight additional students placed as finalists, and three freshmen took home trophies in "state only" events.

Freshman, Jake Coombe, took home triple medallions and the 2nd place trophy in logistics.

Sophomore Lizzie Guan was elected for state office next year. She will attend a summer leadership training for this position.

East DECA co-advisors, Carol Lill and Christy Rutherford said the students were wonderful ambassadors and proudly represented their school.

EastHigh School DECA is the largest chapter in Pennsylvania. DECA's mission is to prepare emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in high school and college for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management in high schools and colleges around the world. Globally, the High School Division includes 200,000 members in 3,500 schools. The Collegiate Division includes over 15,000 members in 275 colleges and universities.

East High School students who participated in this year's conference are: Eric Bechtel, Jessica Becker, Sean Brennan, Julianna Buitron, Aidan Clark, Jake Coombe, Mary Cate Coyle, Tyler Daley, Kristin Eland, Margaux Flemming, Nicole Fredericks, Kayla Fusaro, Nikita Gandhi, Saundra Godshall, Lizzie Guan, Amber Hawkins, Sean Heard, Emma Herman, Hannah Herman, Mallie Holman, Caidyn Hurley, Madelyn Kelijikian, Kiernan Kropinski, Niko Levin, Danielle Lewis, Kunal Maheshwari, Emily McGlinchey, Samantha McHugh, Shruti Meenakshi, Brendan Merten, Maya Moktan, Kathryn Palmer, Graham Pease, JP Perucki, Samantha Phillips, Lexi Plaisted, John Pimley, Cole Riccione, James Schaffer, Michaela Schiele, Paige Smethurst, Jonathan Stafford, Ryan Stafford, Timmy Sullivan, Donovan Tate, Matt Treon, Krystin Usilton, Olivia Usilton, Abbey Vandergast, Rebecca Vengal, Shira Vora, Lindsey Wassell.