Return to Headlines

2021 Spellman Humanitarian Awards

2021 Spellman Humanitarian Award Winners

Seated from left to right - Sakina Farooq, Anna McNaull, Joshua Cuozzo Jr., Matthew Dakin, Sreekar Kunaparaju, Alice Tran, Hannah Guan, Elizabeth Guan, Fatema MunRohen Arya, Alicia Tai, Althea Hutchinson, Abheya Nair

Standing from left to right - Jonathan Orth, Catherine Startup, Grace McCabe, Tyler Emig, Michaela Freney, Brian Burton, Jama Keefer, Margaret Wade, Matilda Armstrong, Samuel Bender, Gabrielle Fernandes, Santiago Ventura, Robert Colson, Claudia Frankfurth, Kristen Corbi, Archana Kulkarni, Kyra Durso

* Photoshop was used to create this image. All attendees of the Spellman Humanitarian Awards ceremony were masked during the ceremony and followed health and safety protocols.

Congratulations to 2021 recipients of the Spellman Humanitarian Awards. The awards were presented at East High School on April 7 in a socially distanced ceremony attended by the award winners, their immediate family members, representatives from the West Chester Area Education Association, WCASD administration, and school board members.

Each year, the West Chester Area District and the West Chester Area Education Association award ten deserving seniors from each high school with the Spellman Humanitarian Award. The tradition dates back to 1999 and honors the memory of the late Elwood (Ossie) Spellman, who served as a member and president of the West Chester School Board from 1951 to 1969. A highly respected area dentist, Dr. Spellman was also actively involved in the Boy Scouts, Rotary Club, YMCA, and Westminster Presbyterian Church. The Spellman Humanitarian Award is given to WCASD seniors who exhibit the spirit of volunteerism and citizenship that was a centerpiece in Dr. Spellman's life.

The 2021 Spellman Humanitarian winners are:

East High School
Rohen Arya
Joshua Cuozzo Jr.
Matthew Dakin
Claudia Frankfurth
Elizabeth Guan
Hannah Guan
Sreekar Kunaparaju
Anna McNaull
Fatema Mun
Alice Tran

Henderson High School
Samuel Bender
Robert Colson
Sakina Farooq
Gabrielle Fernandes
Althea Hutchinson
Archana Kulkarni
Abheya Nair
Catharine Startup
Alicia Tai
Santiago Ventura

Rustin High School
Matilda Armstrong
Brian Burton
Kristen Corbi
Kyra Durso
Tyler Emig
Michaela Freney
Jama Keefer
Grace McCabe
Jonathan Orth
Margaret Wade

View the 2021 Spellman Humanitarian Awards program.