Counseling Staff

  • The WCASD Counselors hold a minimum of a master's degree and a Certificate in Secondary School Counseling. They are also required by the PA Department of Education to receive on-going training and education.  Counselors are prepared to address each student’s academic, career (including higher education planning), personal/social developmental needs in the school setting. This is accomplished in partnership with the student’s family, other WCASD professional staff, and community support services as needed.

    High School Counseling Program and Services Objectives:

    • All students will be appropriately counseled to select the most challenging academic level consistent with their potential.
    • All students will formulate a realistic and individualized goal plan in which they will consistently demonstrate an understanding of how their decisions affect their plan.
    • All students will demonstrate proactive self-advocacy and enrich their educational experiences by seeking out and utilizing available resources, supports, and extra-curricular activities.

    Click on your student's grade level to find out more about the WCASD High Schools' Developmental Counseling Program.

    In addition to individual and group conferences arranged by the counselors, students and parents may schedule appointments as needed with their assigned counselor.

    WCASD High School Counselors are each responsible for a caseload of students in grades 9-12. Students are assigned to counselors alphabetically according to the student’s last name.  The goal is that students will have the same counselor throughout all four years of high school.

    Ms. Elizabeth Bender (ebender@wcasd.net) Students: A-Cr                                 

    Dr. Koreem Bell (kbell1@wcasd.net), Students: Cu- Hog

    Ms. Morgan Gamble (mgamble@wcasd.net), Students: Hoh - Mc

    Ms. Kathy Teague (kteague@wcasd.net), Students Me - Sal

    Ms. Rebecca Singer (rsinger@wcasd.net), Students: Sam - Z

    Ms.Candy Jakubowski (cjakubowski@wcasd.net) -Intervention Counselor

     

    The Counseling Department is supported by an amazing staff of office professionals to whom you can direct your general questions:  

    Ms. Jennifer Smith: Secretary to counselors for students whose last names begin with "A-K"  (484) 266-3408 

    Ms. Karen Pyle: Secretary to counselors for students whose last names begin with "L - Z" (484) 266-3407